Radiation Safety Committee

Further information

Contact us

Michael Rafferty, Executive Officer

Radiation Safety Committee-Dates, Agenda more

The Radiation Safety Committee is a legislative requirement under the WA Radiation Safety (General) Regulation 1983 (Regulation 18) and is affiliated with the University Safety Committee.


The functions of the Committee and its statutory responsibilities are to—

  1. assist the University in achieving its research, educational and community endeavours and to ensure legal compliance with the Radiation Safety Act 1975 and Regulations
  2. maintain surveillance over all facilities in which radioactive substances, irradiating apparatus and electronic products are stored and used, to ensure that the highest safety standards and practices are observed
  3. arrange for the ordering and distribution of radioactive substances and the disposal of radioactive waste
  4. arrange for the training of personnel working with radioactive substances, irradiating apparatus and electronic products
  5. ensure that suitable radiation monitoring is provided
  6. review applications for projects involving ionising radiation and human volunteers where assessment is required for the Human Research Ethics Committee as well as other grant applications where necessary.


Members must also act in accordance with the Senate Code which applies to Senate and Senate committees. In accordance with the Code members must among other things:

‡ act always in the best interest of the University as a whole, with this obligation to be observed in priority to any perceived duty a member may owe to those electing or appointing him or her;

‡ maintain confidentiality and, except with the approval of the Chair or if required by State or Commonwealth legislation, not divulge information at any time to any person external to the committee.

Position of the committee within The University of Western Australia

1. The University Radiation Safety Committee is a legislative requirement under the WA Radiation Safety (General) Regulations 1983 (Regulation 18) and is a sub-committee of the University Safety Committee. The University Safety Committee is an advisory Committee to the Vice-Chancellor and a legislative requirement under the WA Occupational Safety and Health Act 1984 (Division 2, Section 38).


2. The role of the committee is to—

(a) assist the University in complying with statutory radiation safety obligations and best practice requirements to provide safe workplaces and safe work practices;

(b) assist workplaces and individuals by supporting the provision of radiation safety information, instruction, training and financial assistance as required;

(c) review and approve radiation safety policies, procedures and programs for continuous improvement in these areas;

(d) monitor radiation safety performance at the University;

(e) supervise the performance by the University Radiation Safety Officer;

(f) advise the University community of radiation safety responsibilities, performance and issues as required; and

(g) make recommendations of appropriate disciplinary action in the event of noncompliance with University and Statutory requirements.


3.(1) The committee comprises a minimum of five staff members appointed by the Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor who are involved or experienced in radiation work (radioactive substances, irradiating apparatus, electronic products).

(2) The Chair is appointed by the Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor.

(3) The Chair must appoint a Deputy Chair to act in the Chair’s absence.

Terms of office

4. The terms of office of members appointed under 3(1) and (2) is three years.

Eligibility for a second or subsequent term of office

5. At the end of a term of office, members appointed under 3(1) and (2) may be re-appointed.

Skills and/or qualifications of members

6. It is desirable that members elected/appointed under 3(1) and (2) have knowledge, skills and experience in radiation safety fundamentals and application, and also experience in University administration.


7. The quorum for the committee is three members.


8.(1) All questions which come before the committee are decided by a majority of the members present and voting.

Frequency of meetings

9. The committee normally meets at least once every six months (twice a year) but may meet more frequently if necessary.


10. The committee may delegate its responsibilities under 2 to the Chair or their nominee. The committee delegates its responsibility in relation to considering and recommending on specific applications to a sub-committee (comprising committee membership) or a working party (not necessarily with committee membership) depending on the issue.


11. No elections for committee membership are required.

Back to top