Standing Committees of the Academic Board and the Academic Council

Further information

  • Academic Board
  • Academic Council
  • A to Z of Committees

Academic Board

The Academic Board has two standing committees:

Academic Council
The Academic Council is the principal executive arm of the Academic Board through which most of the Board's business is conducted.
Appeals Committee
Considers requests from students for an appeal against the outcome of a review of academic decisions in accordance with the University Policy on the Review and Appeal of Academic Decisions Relating to Students.

Academic Council

The Academic Council has four standing committees which deal with, among other things, strategy, planning and policy:

Academic Year Planning Committee
Responsible for recommending dates for academic years.
Board of the Graduate Research School
The Board, incorporating the Scholarships Committee, recommends on matters relating to postgraduate research, research training and supervision within the University.
Education Committee
Advises and makes recommendations on policy and strategic matters and supports and promotes the University's education priorities.
Institutional Collaborative Student Pathway (ICSP) Committee
Ensures all collaborative pathway agreements are established in line with UWA’s academic course requirements and admission standards
Legislative Committee

Considers proposals relating to the University's internal legislation including by-laws, statutes, regulations, rules and faculty governance documents.

Research Committee

The role of the Research Committee is to advise and make recommendations to the School and Head of School on matters relating to research and postgraduate research training and supervision. 


Back to top