University governance and structure

Further information

  • Schools
  • Academic year dates

The University of Western Australia was established in 1911 and opened its doors to 184 students in 1913.


The University's governance system has a strong collegial foundation. Its governance is overseen by:

The University itself is led by a Vice-Chancellor and an Executive.


There are twenty-one schools, each with their own governance structure.

The Schools operate under clearly defined sets of rules and regulations covering their membership, role, powers and responsibilities.

The academic year starts in late February. There is a calendar of principal dates.

Today, there are over 25,000 students enrolled.

Comprehensive facts and figures about the University are detailed in the UWA annual report.


The University's vision is to achieve international excellence and its mission is to operate at the highest international standards. In August 2012, it joined the ranks of the world's top 100 universities – one of only five in Australia to achieve this milestone.

The University’s longer-term aim is to be counted among the top 50 universities in the world by 2050 and to be recognised internationally for its excellence in teaching and research and as a leading intellectual and creative resource to the communities it serves. To assist in this, UWA has developed its Strategic Directions plan.

The University's cycle of planning and accountability informs the process by which the Strategic Plan, Operational Priorities Plan (UWA network access only) and other management plans are developed.

Information Governance

Information Governance Services (IGS) is responsible for managing the University’s corporate information in accordance with the University’s Record Keeping Plan. IGS advises and trains staff on how to use the University’s electronic document and records management system, TRIM, and provides a reference service to the University’s Archives.

Back to top