Institutional Collaborative Student Pathway (ICSP) Committee

contact us

Executive Officer: Mr Tamas Zegrean



Further information

ICSP Committee agendas and minutes 

A to Z of Committees

This committee operates in accordance with the UWA Principles for the Operation of Committee and UWA Rules for the operation of committees. Members must act in accordance with the University Committee Members' Code of Conduct.


Position of the committee within The University of Western Australia

1. The Institutional Collaborative Student Pathways (ICSP) Committee is a standing committee of the Academic Board/Academic Council.


2. The role of the ICSP Committee is to -

(a) ensure that all collaborative pathway agreements are established in line with UWA’s academic course requirements and admission standards;

(b) consider and approve curriculum equivalences/comparability;

(c) consider, assess and approve proposals for new or renewal of collaborative pathway agreements (onshore providers leading to the establishment of Foundation Programs, and other academic programs, and offshore providers), including volume of learning;

(d) oversee and monitor the quality assurance of the articulation agreements, where relevant;

(e) recommend to the Academic Council via the University’s Education Committee any related changes to University Academic Policies;

(f) monitor student experience and academic performance indicators of students who have gained entry into the University via ICSP and provide an annual report to the Academic Council; and

(g) monitor quality assurance of UWA courses delivered via third-party agreements and provide an annual report to the Academic Council.


3.(1) The ICSP committee comprises:

(a) Chair of the Academic Board or nominee as Chair;

(b) the Pro Vice-Chancellor (International) or nominee;

(c) up to four faculty Associate Deans;

(d) the Dean of Coursework Studies;

(e) the Dean of Graduate Research School or nominee;

(f) the Academic Secretary;

(g) the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Education) or nominee;

(h) the President of the UWA Student Guild, or nominee;

(i) the President of the Postgraduate Students' Association, or nominee;

(j) one academic staff member and one professional staff member nominated and elected by Academic Board;

(k) up to two co-opted members if required for expertise.  

(2) The Chair may appoint a Deputy Chair from among the members to perform essential duties in the Chair's absence.

(3) The four faculty Associate Deans in 3(1) (c) must include a combination of the following two faculty positions: Associate Dean (International) and Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching).

(4) Co-opted members are appointed for two years and may be reappointed for a second term only.

Terms of Office

4(1) The term of office of members elected under 3(1)(j) is three years.

(2) The term of office of members co-opted under 3(1)(k) is two years.

(3) At the end of a term of office, members elected under 3(1)(j) are eligible to be elected for a second term only.

(4) At the end of a term of office, members co-opted under 3(1)(k) are eligible to be co-opted again. 

Members' absence and nominees

5.(1) In the event that a member is unable to attend a meeting, that member may nominate a person to attend that meeting in their stead.

(2) Nominations must be in writing and received by the Executive Officer prior to the relevant meeting.


6. The quorum for the Committee is half the current membership plus one.


7.(1) Each member has a vote.

(2) The Chair has an ordinary vote and a casting vote.

(3) Decisions are made by a majority of the members present and voting.

Frequency of meetings

8. The Committee normally meets at least four times each year in the months of February to November but may meet more frequently if required.


9.(1) The Committee delegates to the Chair the responsibility to consider and approve new agreements and academic arrangements that comply with policy and/or similar approved decisions.


Back to top


This Page

Last updated:
Friday, 22 May, 2020 5:21 PM