Further information

Contact us

Lidia Cuoco, Executive Officer.

Academic year dates

This committee operates in accordance with the UWA Principles for the Operation of Committees and UWA Rules for the Operation of Committees. Members must act in accordance with the University Committee Members' Code of Conduct.


Position of the committee within The University of Western Australia

1. The Academic Year Planning Committee is a sub-committee of the Academic Board/Academic Council.


2. The role of the Academic Year Planning Committee is to recommend to the Academic Council dates for academic years having regard to the University Policy on the Structure of the Academic Year approved by the Academic Council, such that by the end of each year the dates for the next three years are confirmed and promulgated and the dates for the fourth and fifth years following are tentatively established.


3.(1) The committee comprises:

(a) the Academic Secretary as Chair;

(b) the Chair of the Academic Board;

(c) the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education);

(d) the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research);

(e) five persons nominated by and from the Heads of School or in the absence of an elected Head of School an alternative Head of School may attend;

(f) the Pro Vice-Chancellor (International), or nominee;

(g) the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Education), or nominee;

(h) a head of college nominated by the heads of college;

(i) the Associate Director, Student Services, or nominee;

(j) the Associate Director Admissions, or nominee;

(k) the President of the Guild of Undergraduates;

(l) the Dean, Graduate Research School, or nominee;

(m) one academic staff member (Level B and above) nominated and elected by the Academic Board;

(n) one professional staff member (Level 9 and above) nominated and elected by the Academic Board; and

(o) up to two members co-opted by the above to provide specific expertise. 

Back to top

Terms of office

4.(1) The term of office of members elected under 3(1)(e), 3(1)(m) and 3(1)(n) is three years.

(2) The members referred to in 4(1) may serve a second term on the Committee.

(3) The term of office of members co-opted under 3(o) is two years.

Eligibility for a second or subsequent term of office

5.(1) At the end of a term of office, members co-opted under 3(m) and 3(n) are eligible to be elected for a second term only.

(2) At the end of a term of office, members co-opted under 3(o) are eligible to be co-opted again. 

Skills and/or qualifications of members

6. (1) The composition of the committee is designed to allow it to benefit from a range of relevant expertise and advice.


7. The quorum for the committee is at least half the number of members plus one.


8.(1) All questions which come before the committee are decided by a majority of the members present and voting.

(2) The chair of the meeting has an ordinary vote and a casting vote.

Frequency of meetings

9.The committee must meet at least once in each year but may meet more frequently if required. 

Back to top

Decision-making and communications maps

Local decision-making map

A decision-making map illustrating where the committee's business comes from and where its recommendations or decisions go:

Local communications map

A communications map illustrating where information comes to the committee from and which committees or groups need to be informed of the committee's decisions:

Back to top