Strategic Resources Committee

Further information

Contact us

University Secretary, Executive Officer.

A to Z of Committees

The constitution of the Strategic Resources Committee.

This committee operates in accordance with the UWA Principles for the Operation of Committees and UWA Rules for the Operation of Committees . Members must act in accordance with the University Committee Members' Code of Conduct.

Members must also act in accordance with the Senate Code which applies to Senate and Senate committees. In accordance with the Code members must among other things:

‡ act always in the best interest of the University as a whole, with this obligation to be observed in priority to any perceived duty a member may owe to those electing or appointing him or her;

‡ maintain confidentiality and, except with the approval of the Chair or if required by State or Commonwealth legislation, not divulge information at any time to any person external to the committee.

The Senate Charter gives the Senate responsibility, among other things, for facilitating and assisting with the resourcing of the University, and for working in partnership with the Vice-Chancellor to ensure the fiscal viability of the institution.


1. The Strategic Resources Committee is a committee of the Senate.


2. The role of the committee is to—

(a) monitor the financial welfare of the University and report to Senate annually on its findings;

(b) monitor campus planning and advise Senate on major physical developments and associated policy issues;

(c) monitor policy on staffing resources in the context of the current Priority Staffing and Industrial Relations Objective, and report to Senate annually on its findings;

(d) within the limits of agreed delegations, make decisions or recommendations to Senate on investments within a framework of strategy approved by the Senate; and

(e) bring to the Senate's attention emerging strategic issues related to the committee's role which have the potential to impact on the University and which it believes should be addressed by the Executive and/or the Senate.


3.(1) The committee comprises:

(a) members appointed by and from the Senate as follows:

(i) an external member, as Chair;

(ii) at least two other external members;

(iii) at least one member of the academic or general staff;

(b) the Vice-Chancellor;

(c) the member elected by the Academic Board;

(d) one student member; and

(e) up to four external members co-opted by the foregoing.

(2) At the beginning of each year the committee must appoint from among its members an external member of the Senate as Deputy Chair.

(3) Except as set out in (4) an external member is one who does not hold any University position, either paid or honorary.

(4) For the purpose of membership of this committee, the Senate may determine that a holder of a clinical, adjunct or honorary position, is an external member.

(5) The following are standing invitees to meetings of the committee:

(a) the Chancellor;

(b) the Executive Director, Corporate Services

Back to top

Terms of office

4.(1) The term of office of members appointed under 3(1)(a) and (e) is normally three years.

(2) The term of office of the member appointed under 3(1)(d) is normally one year.

Eligibility for a second or subsequent term of office

5. At the end of a term of office, members are eligible to be reappointed or co-opted again; the maximum number of terms is three.

Skills and/or qualifications of members

6.(1) It is desirable that members appointed under 3(1)(a) and (e) have an understanding of the strategic use of resources.

(2) In determining co-options under 3(1)(e), the committee—

(a) must ensure that co-options provide expertise in areas of need identified by the committee;

(b) must consider issues of confidentiality and loyalty; and

(c) must consider co-opting members of the alumni, potential future members of the Senate and former members of the Senate.

Back to top


7. The quorum for the committee is half the number of members and must include at least one of the members appointed under 3(1)(a)(i) or (ii).


8.(1) All questions which come before the committee are decided by a majority of the members present and voting.

(2) The chair of the meeting has an ordinary vote and a casting vote.

Frequency of meetings

9. The committee normally meets four times a year.

Back to top