University Research Committee


Contact us

Executive Officer:  Dr Kabilan Krishnasamy

Further Information

University Research Committee minutes 

Induction information
Staff contact directory

This committee operates in accordance with the UWA Principles for the Operation of Committee and UWA Rules for the operation of committees. Members must act in accordance with the University Committee Members' Code of Conduct


Position of the Committee within the University of Western Australia

1. The University Research Committee is a standing committee of the Academic Board/Academic Council.



2. The role of the University Research Committee is to:

a) Advise the Academic Council or the University Executive on research matters including the University’s research priorities

b) Ensure the alignment of school research strategy with University priorities

c)Oversee those elements of the University’s Strategic Plan relating to research including higher degree by research (HDR), academic enterprise, research infrastructure, and engagement with research consumers, beneficiaries and end-users

d) Oversee the University’s response to State and Federal Government, and international research policy frameworks, including for example the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative

e) Oversee the University’s governance around good research practice, including compliance with regulations and legislation involving research with animals, human participants, biological hazards and foreign entities and any other relevant legislation;

f) Work with the Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) to develop initiatives to improve the University’s research performance, including providing strategic funding, HDR scholarships and supporting cross discipline research opportunities, including through the Institute of Advanced Studies.



3. (1) The committee comprises:

a) the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) as Chair;

b) the Chair of the Academic Board or nominee;

c) the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research);

d) the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Health and Medical Research);


e) the Pro Vice-chancellor (Engagement);


f) the Dean of the Graduate Research School;

g) the Director, Office of Research;

h) the Director, Institute of Advanced Studies;

i) the University Librarian;

j) five persons nominated by and from the Heads of School or in the absence of an elected Head of School an alternative Head of School may attend;

k) Nominee of the Pro-Vice Chancellor (Indigenous Education), School of Indigenous Studies

l) President of the Postgraduate Students’ Association or nominee

m) two academic staff members nominated and elected by Academic Board; and

n) up to three co-opted members if required for balance or specific experience 

(2) The committee may elect a deputy chair from among its members.

(3) Members appointed under 3(1)(h) should have related skills set to serve on this Committee.


Terms of office

4. (1) The term of office of members appointed under 3(1)(j) is three years.

(2) The term of office of members elected under 3(1)(m) is three years.

(3) The term of office of members co-opted under 3(1)(n) is two years.

(4) At the end of a term of office, members appointed under 3(1)(j), 3(1)(m) and 3(1)(n) are eligible for a second term, but must not serve for more than three consecutive terms.


5. The quorum for the committee is half the number of members plus one.


6. (1) All decisions should be reached by consensus in the first instance.

(2) In the event that decision can’t be reached by consensus decisions will be by a majority of the members present and voting.

(3) The Chair has an ordinary vote and a casting vote.

Frequency of meetings

7. The committee meets up to four times each year in the months of February to November but may meet more frequently if required.

Decision-making and communication maps

Local decision-making map

A decision-making map illustrating where the committee's business comes from and where its recommendations or decisions go is available:

Local communications map

A communications map illustrating where information comes to the committee from and which committees or groups need to be informed of the committee's decisions is available: