UWA Governance

Schools: Academic Governance

The University of Western Australia is governed by the University of Western Australia Act 1911. The 21-member Senate is the University's governing body, empowered with the authority to make statutes, regulations and by-laws, while the Academic Board is the chief academic body. The University has four faculties and is led by a Vice-Chancellor and an Executive.

Further information


The University's Schools operate under clearly defined sets of rules and regulations.

Schools are established within the University in accordance with the University's Statutes.  The following School Governance Constitutions set out the membership, role, powers and responsibilities of the Schools:

The academic year starts in late February. There is a calendar of principal dates.

Today, there are over 25,000 students enrolled.  Comprehensive facts and figures about the University are detailed in the UWA annual report

Governance documents

Schools are required to review their governance documents at least once a year and to forward any amendments to the Academic Secretary for consideration by the relevant committees. Contact Dr Kabilan Krishnasamy, Academic Secretary for further information.

Back to top