UWA Governance

Academic Council

The University of Western Australia is governed by the University of Western Australia Act 1911. The 21-member Senate is the University's governing body, empowered with the authority to make statutes, regulations and by-laws, while the Academic Board is the chief academic body. The University has four faculties and is led by a Vice-Chancellor and an Executive.

The Academic Council is the principal executive arm of the Academic Board through which most of the Board's business is conducted.

The Council's role and responsibilities are contained in its constitution. Its membership comprises ex officio appointments, five elected Heads of Schools and ten members elected by and from the Academic Board.

The Academic Board and Council Steering Committee advises on the flow of business to the Academic Board and Council.

Meeting dates

All Academic Council meetings will commence at 10:00am in the Senate Room, Winthrop Hall unless advised otherwise. Meeting dates and cut-off dates for agenda items are as follows:

2022 Meeting Dates Document Deadline (TO OFFICE OF THE ACADEMIC SECRETARY) 
23 February   12md 27 January
29  June  12md 6 June
31 August  12md 8 August
7 December  12md 14 November


Back to top

Committee induction

Academic Council induction information including Decision-making and Communication maps are available at the following link:

Academic Board and Council Induction Information 

Back to top