Governance

Academic Year Calendar

The following academic dates have been confirmed for the academic years 2020 (Academic Council R50/17), 2021 (Academic Council R34/18) and 2022 (Academic Council R31/19).

Select another year from the dropdown:

 

2020

Principal Dates Day Date UA Common
Vacation Weeks
Calendar
Weeks
First Semester begins Monday 24 February - 9
Non-teaching study break begins (1 week) Monday 13 April 13 April 16
First Semester ends Friday 22 May - 21
Pre-examination study break begins Monday 25 May - 22
First Semester examinations begin Saturday 30 May - 23-24
Student Vacation begins Monday 15 June - 25-30
UA Common Vacation Week Monday 6 July 6 July 28
Second Semester begins Monday 27 July - 31
Non-teaching study break begins (1 week) Monday 28 September 28 September 40
Second Semester ends Friday 23 October - 43
pre-examination study break begins Monday 26 October - 44
Second Semester examinations begin Saturday 31 October - 45-46
Summer Vacation begins Monday 16 November - 47

2021

Principal Dates Day Date UA Common
Vacation Weeks
Calendar
Weeks
First Semester begins Monday 22 February - 8
Easter Monday - non-teaching study break begins (1 week) Monday 5 April 5 April 14
First Semester ends Friday 21 May - 20
Pre-examination study break begins Monday 24 May - 21
First Semester examinations begin Saturday 29 May - 22-23
Student Vacation begins Monday 14 June - 24-29
UA Common Vacation Week Monday 5 July 5 July 27
Second Semester begins Monday 26 July - 30
Non-teaching study break begins (1 week) Monday 27 September 27 September 39
Second Semester ends Friday 22 October - 42
pre-examination study break begins Monday 25 October - 43
Second Semester examinations begin Saturday 30 October - 44-45
Summer Vacation begins Monday 15 November - 46

2022

Principal Dates Day Date UA Common
Vacation Weeks
Calendar
Weeks
First Semester begins Monday 28 February - 9
Easter Monday - non-teaching study break begins (1 week) Monday 18 April 18 April 16
First Semester ends Friday 27 May - 21
Pre-examination study break begins Monday 30 May - 22
First Semester examinations begin Saturday 4 June - 23-24
Student Vacation begins Monday 20 June - 25-29
UA Common Vacation Week Monday 4 July 4 July 27
Second Semester begins Monday 25 July - 30
Non-teaching study break begins (1 week) Monday 26 September 26 September 39
Second Semester ends Friday 21 October - 42
Pre-examination study break begins Monday 24 October - 43
Second Semester examinations begin Saturday 29 October - 44-45
Summer Vacation begins Monday 14 November - 46

***** 

Summer School

The official period in which a summer school (non-standard) teaching period may occur is from the last week in November of the previous year to the last week in January of the current year. Summer school examinations are held for an additional week in the first week of February each year. Please refer to the University Policy on Summer School for more information about the UWA Summer School.

*****