Higher Degree Research Scholarships Committee


Higher Degree Research Scholarships Committee

This committee operates in accordance with the UWA Principles for the Operation of Committee and UWA Rules for the operation of committees. Members must act in accordance with the University Committee Members' Code of Conduct.

Position of the Committee within the University of Western Australia

1. The Higher Degree Research (HDR) Scholarships Committee is a standing committee of the Academic Council.


2. The role of the HDR Scholarships Committee is to—

a) advise and submit recommendations to the Academic Council on policy matters relating to the establishment and administration of postgraduate research awards following consultation with the Board of Graduate Research School;

b) recommend to the University Executive or body, where appropriate, funding and budget strategies pertaining to the administration of HDR scholarships.

d) deal exclusively with all matters relating to the award of postgraduate research scholarships within the Deed of Gift and all postgraduate awards funded by Government and other external agencies;

e) on behalf of Academic Board, approve the establishment of postgraduate research scholarships that are not restricted to students enrolled in a course offered by an individual faculty and are in accordance with University legislation and policy;

f) on behalf of Academic Board, oversee the establishment of all postgraduate research scholarships having regard to University legislation and policy;

g) ensure that proposed new or amended scholarship conditions are accurate, clear, consistent with other University legislation and policy and in accordance with any established standard wording and drafting principles; and

h) recommend to the Board of the Graduate Research School, Academic Board or the faculties, as appropriate, any necessary action to ensure that appropriate standards and policies relating to any of the above are maintained.


3.(1) The committee comprises:

(a) the Dean of Graduate Research School as Chair;

(b) the Chair of the Academic Board or nominee;

(c) three appointees by election of the Academic Board;

(d) four members appointed by the Board of Graduate Research School;

(e) the Associate Director, Graduate Research School;

(f) the President of the Postgraduate Students’ Association or nominee; and

(g) up to three co-opted members if required for balance or specific experience.

(2) The Graduate Scholarships Officer is a standing invitee to meetings of the committee.

(3) The committee elects a deputy chair from among its members.

Terms of office

4.(1) The term of office of members appointed under 3(1)(c) is three years.

(2) At the end of a term of office, members appointed under 3(1)(c) are eligible to be nominated for election by the Academic Board.

(3) The term of office of members co-opted under 3(1)(g) is one year.  

(4) At the end of a term of office, members appointed under 3(1)(g) are eligible to be co-opted again. 


5. The quorum for the committee is half the number of members plus one.


6.(1) All questions which come before the committee are decided by a majority of the members present and voting.

(2) The chair of the meeting has an ordinary vote and a casting vote.

Delegation to Chair

7.(1) The Chair has delegated authority to approve the establishment of scholarships described in 2(e) where these are for higher degrees by research and the proposed conditions principally comprise standard clauses.

(2) The Chair may transmit recommendations from the HDR Scholarships Committee to the Academic Council without reference to the Board of the Graduate Research School.

Frequency of meetings

8. The committee meets as and when required.