Academic Quality and Standards Committee

Further information

Academic Quality and Standards Committee 

Education committee


Contact us

Mr Wing Chung, Executive Officer.

Academic Quality and Standards Committee

This committee operates in accordance with the UWA Principles for the Operation of Committee and UWA Rules for the operation of committees. Members must act in accordance with the University Committee Members' Code of Conduct.


Position of the committee within The University of Western Australia

1. The Academic Quality and Standards Committee is a standing committee of the Education Committee..


2. The role of the Academic Quality and Standards Committee is to -

(a) ensure alignment of relevant University policies and procedures with the requirements issued by external regulatory agencies and professional accreditation bodies as they relate to learning, teaching and assessment;

(b) monitor quality and standard of coursework courses taught to ensure that the University’s academic quality and standards framework is implemented appropriately;

(c) have oversight of the University’s approach to assuring the completeness, accuracy and reliability of course related information published and provided for prospective and current students;

(d) undertake periodic review of the University’s undergraduate and postgraduate coursework courses, and to report on the review including recommendations for quality enhancement to the Academic Board via the Education Committee;

(e) make recommendations to the Academic Council via the Education Committee on all policy matters and entry standards relating to admission to the University;

(f) advise the Education Committee on the higher education standards environment; and

(g) consider and report on any matter referred to it by the Education Committee.


3.(1) The Academic Quality and Standards Committee comprises:

(a) the Dean of Postgraduate Coursework Studies as Chair;

(b) the Chair of the Academic Board or nominee;

(c) one head of school nominated by each of the faculty Executive Dean;

(d) three UWA academic staff members nominated and elected by the Academic Board;

(e) the Academic Secretary;

(f) nominee of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Education);

(g) the Associate Director, Admissions or nominee

(h) the nominee of the Guild President;

(i) the nominee of the President of the Postgraduate Students Association; and

(j) up to two co-opted members if required for balance or specific expertise

(2) The Chair may appoint a deputy chair from among its members.

(3) The Manager (Policy, Compliance and QA) serves as the Executive Officer to the Committee.

Terms of office

4.(1) The term of office of members appointed under 3(1)(d) is two years.

(2) At the end of a term of office, members appointed under 3(1)(d) are eligible to be nominated for election by the Academic Board.

(3) The term of office of members co-opted under 3(1)(j) is two years.

(4) At the end of a term of office, members appointed under 3(1)(j) are eligible to be co-opted again.


5. The quorum for the Committee is half the number of members plus one.


6.(1) All matters are decided by a majority of the members present and voting.

(2) Each member has a vote.

(3) The chair of the meeting has an ordinary vote and a casting vote.

(4) Invitees or standing invitees do not have a vote.

Frequency of meetings

7. The Academic Quality and Standards Committee meets up to six times a year during the period from February to November, and may meet more frequently when required.

Back to top