The Senate is the governing authority of the University.

It consists of 21 members and in the words of The University of Western Australia Act 1911 has “the entire control and management of the affairs of the University and may act in all matters concerning the University in such manner as appears to it best calculated to promote the interests of the University”.

Meeting dates 2018

  • Monday 12 March
  • Monday 23 April
  • Monday 25 June
  • Monday 27 August
  • Monday 22 October
  • Monday 10 December


The Senate is governed by the conditions set down in Statute No. 1: The Senate and operates under the Standing orders of the Senate.


Current Senate members access to minutes (login required).


Senate election form

Eligible staff who wish to nominate for election under section 8(1)(c) and 8(1)(j) of the University of Western Australia Act 1911 are required to complete the form:

Back to top